Preview: "velet paradise"

About

Jaire Woods, professionally known as “Jaja Slidin’,” is respected by many in the R&B music industry as a premier producer and songwriter. He has multiple GRAMMY Awards and a thriving record label, Chosen 4 Eternity (C4E). Jaire’s ADHD and trauma present daily challenges. Experiencing burnout from running a label and producing for other artists, Jaire craves a change. What’s a better option than starting a band with his gifted college homies? Everyone’s down, but there’s only one issue. No one wants to be the lead singer.

Alaia Mondesir has wished to be an R&B sensation since childhood. Alaia spent her first three years in Haiti before immigrating to New Orleans, LA. During her youth, the students at school mocked her for her accent and lofty aspirations. Alaia experienced harsher treatment at home and resorted to journaling and music for a way out. The desire to prove her critics wrong fuels her ambition. Despite her clout on TikTok and Instagram, Alaia’s music career has not yet taken off. After a shocking breakup with her ex-fiancee, Alaia moved to Los Angeles, CA. She has lived in the City of Angels for three months and has just received a remarkable opportunity.

“velvet paradise” recounts the genesis of a black and queer band. During their journey, they learn more about one another and their histories. Secrets get revealed. Drama transpires. Through it all, everlasting kinships form.

…come with us inside our velvet paradise

Meet the Characters

The Band

Broderick Hunter

Jaire “Jaja Slidin’” Cassius Woods (27)

Pronouns: he/him

Nicknames: Jaja,Ja

Birthday: April 11th (Aries)

Born & Raised: Memphis, Tennessee

Band Role: Guitarist/Vocalist

Everyone’s wowed by how far Jaire has come in such a little time. The world sees him as a giant mogul, but he’s really a goofball who’s always hanging on by a thread.

Q: Why did you decide to create velvet paradise?

A: I got tired of the same ‘ol, same ‘ol. I’ve been hella hands-on with the label. I always will be, but I've got execs I trust to handle the hard stuff. I want to invest more of my time in something, something fun. I went through a bunch of options, but then I thought of my homies. We’ve been tight since college. We always joked about making a band. Why not turn that into reality? We’re all gifted and have our own image, but we can build something together. velvet paradise is what we’re building.

Q: What do you want people to know about you?

A: I’m more than a producer and songwriter. Most people don’t know I play the guitar as well. Through velvet paradise, I'm gonna display my guitar skills and show how talented I am.

Mariama Diallo

Alaia Lovelie Mondesir (25)

Pronouns: she/her

Nicknames: Lai

Birthday: August 4th (Leo)

Born: Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Raised: New Orleans, LA

Band Role: Lead Vocalist

When Alaia walks in with the face and body, everyone stares. When she speaks in her Haitian accent, they drool. When she grabs a microphone and sings, they fall in love. She knows she’s a superstar, though the world may not know it yet. Though Alaia is a known flirt, she’s really about her business at the end of the day.

Q: What do you know about velvet paradise?

A: Barely shit. It’s under wraps. A C4E A&R representative DM’d me out of the blue. He asked me if I was interested in an opportunity. I met up with him, and he talked about joining a damn band. The band is full of some of the hottest names in the industry. Yet, they have chosen me as a candidate to be a lead singer. It sounds fishy.

Q: Are you going to join?

A: I don’t know. We’ll see once they let me know what that contract looks like and once I meet the band members. They all seem cool, and they’re all fine as fuck…but you never know. This industry is fucking disgusting. I like to feel things out before I commit, even dream opportunities.

Abdulaye Niang

Harlem “Harlem Hates New York” Canon Knight (26)

Pronouns: he/they

Born: Harlem, New York City, New York

Raised: Portland, Oregon

Birthday: November 18th (Scorpio)

Band Role: Drummer/Rapper

Harlem is mostly known as a producer who adds a grungy rock and emo flair to trap beats. Only the most skilled rappers can bless his tracks. There's no way you'll be bored around Harlem. He’s spontaneous and wild, but not to the point of being annoying. His innovative brain always sparks an idea.

Q: Why did you decide to join velvet paradise?

A: I just wanna rock with my niggas. I’m tired of fucking with these rappers. Most of them are mid and don’t do my productions justice. Everyone knows me as this bizarre producer who sometimes raps, but only real ones know how hard I go on the drums. I want to showcase my talent with my homies, simple.

Kehlani

Adriana “Drizz” Magnolia Murphy (26)

Pronouns: she/he/they

Born & Raised: Oakland, CA

Birthday: May 28th (Gemini)

Band Role: Keyboardist/Vocalist

Drizz is chill and suave, but their fans pass out any time they see them. Drizz keeps a couple of baddies with them. Is it really love if the homies can’t get none?

Q: Why did you decide to join velvet paradise?

A: It’s been only me four albums now. I love my fans and what I do, but the shit gets lonely. It gets repetitive. At the same time, I love being on the stage. I love making people scream and getting panties thrown at me. velvet paradise is my chance to still have the acclaim but with the unity of my friends. It’s less pressure. More love. More memories. More life.

Coco Jones

Elise Riana Givens (27)

Pronouns: she/her

Nicknames: Lise, E

Born & Raised: Atlanta, GA

Birthday: January 2nd (Capricorn)

Band Role: Bassist/Vocalist

Elise has one more GRAMMY than Jaire, so don’t play with her. Her bluntness has made her every serious artist’s top collaborator. She aids them as a songwriter and vocal coach. Anything Elise touches goes diamond, at least.

Q: Why did you decide to join velvet paradise?

A: I’ve always been behind the scenes. Everyone sees my name in the writing credits, but few know my face. My voice. I’m not trying to be some superstar, but I do want to be seen. I want to be that badass black girl on stage playing bass with micro braids. I have the chance to do that with velvet paradise. I trust in my friends and their talents and mine, and I understand all is possible.

Lovie Simone

Cassandra Nicole “Cassie” Leslie (24)

Pronouns: she/her

Born & Raised: Los Angeles, CA

Birthday: July 16th (Cancer)

Band Role: Assistant

Cassie is an artist with social anxiety who loves relaxing days with her girlfriend and her cat. She makes a living off her artwork, but she’s feeling too comfortable. It’s time to try something new.

Q: Why did you decide to join velvet paradise?

A: I mean, I’m just an assistant. But yeah, I guess I am part of the band. Ja asked me if I wanted to be their assistant. I’m a painter and digital artist. Most musical artists from C4E contract me for their singles and album covers. I’ve been going through a little creative block. I just need something fresh, something that’s not flashy or fancy. So, I accepted, and now I’m here…scheduling Harlem’s wax appointments. Is it too late to back out?

Ryan Destiny

Serenity Mahogany Childs (née Woods) (29)

Pronouns: she/her

Nicknames: Reni, Ren

Born & Raised: Memphis, TN

Birthday: October 12th (Libra)

Band Role: Manager

Serenity is Jaire’s big sister, who does not play about him. While Serenity is professional, due to years working at her husband’s PR firm, she is the type to smack somebody upside their head. So, please don’t piss her off. And dear God, do not talk shit about Ja.

Q: Why did you decide to join velvet paradise?

A: My little bro told me about the band and asked me if I wanted to manage. I jumped at the opportunity. We don’t have a lead vocalist yet, but we have the star power. We can get somebody off the street and still go viral. We have a top producer and label executive in my brother. Harlem is a black Travis Barker. Drizz is every lesbian’s wet dream, and their keyboard skills are just as sexy as their silky vocals. Elise is a bad bitch who’s about her bread and one of the biggest songwriters in the game. We’re stacked. Nothing can stop us but us. I would be a fool not to back this band until the end.

The Roadies

Normani

Amor Marie Pierre (26)

Pronouns: she/her

Born: Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Raised: New Orleans, LA

Birthday: February 18th (Aquarius)

Amor is a baddie news anchor. While she’s reporting the latest murder in Los Angeles, somebody’s man is sliding into her DM.

Tyler Lepley

Romain “Rome” Zeke Hudson (29)

Pronouns: he/him

Born & Raised: Philadelphia, PA

Birthday: March 10th (Pisces)

Rome is a retired NFL star with too much time on his hands. He has seven baby mamas and still counting.

Madison B (IG: @madisonmbt)

Sundae “Sunni” Kristian Carter (26)

Pronouns: she/her

Born & Raised: London, UK

Birthday: June 27th (Cancer)

Sunni is a lively TikTok and Instagram influencer who stays on vacation. Everybody wonders, “Where the hell is she getting that money from?”

Sharon Alexie

Mariah Lianne Florence (26)

Pronouns: she/they

Born: Paris, France

Raised: New Orleans, LA

Birthday: December 17th (Sagittarius)

Mariah is an assistant coach for the New Orleans Pelicans. She loves basketball but doesn’t have time for games. Hence why she broke off her and Alaia’s engagement.

The Fam

Aaron Pierre

Dion Kendrick Childs (32)

Pronouns: he/him

Born & Raised: Chicago, IL

Birthday: August 30th (Virgo)

Dion is an entrepreneur. He’s known mostly for owning one of the best Public Relations companies in Los Angeles. He started from the bottom, and now he can kick his feet up while others make him money.

Jahi Di’allo Winston

Chance Tremon Woods (17)

Pronouns: he/him

Born & Raised: Memphis, TN

Birthday: May 13th (Taurus)

Chance is Jaire and Serenity’s little brother who loves to aggravate them, even from afar. He’s a talented basketball player and aspires to be in the NBA one day. For now, he has to decide which college offer he wants to accept.

Gabrielle Union

Dr. Keena Mary Woods (53)

Pronouns: she/her

Born & Raised: Memphis, TN

Birthday: December 29th (Capricorn)

Dr. Keena is the matriarch of the Woods family. They love her (most of the time). She can be a mess at home, but she keeps it tidy in the delivery room. She’s a trusted OB-GYN in the Memphis area.

Mahershala Ali

Cordell “Dell” Cassius Woods (51)

Pronouns: he/him

Born & Raised: Memphis, TN

Birthday: July 31st (Leo)

Dell is just a dude from the hood who made it off a landscaping business and his wife’s medical salary. The Woods children love him since he spent most of his life being a stay-at-home dad. If they have a problem, they go to Dell first.

Garcelle Beauvais

Judeline Gaelle Mondesir (54)

Pronouns: she/her

Born & Raised: Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Birthday: July 9th (Cancer)

Judeline is Alaia’s mother. The two have an extremely toxic relationship. Whenever they get into an argument, anybody in the same room better duck.

Jimmy Jean-Louis

Frantz David Mondesir (56)

Pronouns: he/him

Born & Raised: Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Birthday: October 30th (Scorpio)

Frantz is Alaia’s father who excuses all of his wife’s injustices against his daughter. He wants everyone to “get along” but does nothing to mend their relationship.

I can’t wait for this one. I hope y’all are as excited as I am.

Join the conversation

or to participate.