The Book of Amel [ALBUM + INTERVIEW]

Presenting: The Book of Amel created by Amel from Stunna Records

The Book of Amel

Presenting: The Book of Amel created by Amel from Stunna Records

Tracklist

  1. Talkback - 6LACK

  2. Minding Mine - SAFE

  3. Sneak - Leon Thomas

  4. Closure - Kelela & RAHRAH GABOR

  5. Drop - Jacob Latimore

  6. Alright - Victoria Monet

  7. What You Wanna Try - Masego

  8. Know Better - Janelle Monae

  9. Home Maker - Sudan Archives

  10. Princess Going Digital - Amaarae

  11. No Way - Syd

  12. synergy - UMI

  13. 77 Degrees - Mariah the Scientist (ft. 21 Savage)

  14. ego talkin' - Saint Harison

  15. Kody Blu 31 - JID

Streaming exclusively on Spotify & Apple Music

A Sit Down with Amel discussing The Book of Amel

R&B sensation Amel, who uses pronouns she/her and they/them, warmly welcomes me into their stylish home, which they affectionately refer to as their “crib.” Their dazzling smile reveals gold platelets on their teeth, their hair styled in zig-zag cornrows cascading down their back. With baby hairs elegantly framing their temples, the trendsetting superstar sports a cream and beige Versace varsity jacket over a simple white crop top. Her toned abs peek out, glistening with shea butter, looking like she just finished doing an eternity of sit-ups. Her Air Jordan 1 Retro High OG ‘Praline’ sneakers accentuate the crisp roll of her khaki cargo pants.

As we explore their contemporary bachelorette pad, the color scheme of black, sky blue, and white creates a visually pleasing, laid-back aesthetic. Upon entering the living room, Amel apologizes for the slight mess. A few sketchbooks and journals scatter across a captivating marbled coffee table adorned in luxurious emerald green.

Settling onto a plush Italian sectional in obsidian-colored fabric, our conversation flows with smooth humor. With their shoes kicked off, the heartthrob leans back against an armrest with effortless coolness, flashing a stunning grin and giving me their undivided attention. Showering me with compliments on my short locs and Fashion Nova outfit, they make me blush before we embark on our delightful interview.

In your own words, how would you describe The Book of Amel?

[fiddles with their necklace’s golden wolf pendant] The Book of Amel is an album that paints a portrait of my current life, struggles, and philosophies. Locked In, my previous album, had bops, but its essence was my pain. It was a grimy album about how I have to hustle and “prove a point” despite the tumultuous shit happening in my life. [blows lips and laughs faintly] I’m not going to lie. I wasn’t in the best place during that period. The Book of Amel is my testimony to what I survived in my past. It preaches loving life and persisting despite any internal or external factors. In this album, I released pent-up emotions. I just did me and experimented with my sound. I let shit flow. Now, I feel like I’m stepping into myself as I enter my 30s.

Critics are already saying the album is one of the best R&B albums in recent years and is sure to make an impact at every award show, Grammys included. How does that make you feel? Are you shocked?

Everything I put my soul into is valuable and worth every reward on the planet, so nah, I’m not shocked. It is a blessing to be heard and regarded by those who enjoyed the album, though. I hope my music has inspired people like myself who have come from or still live in poverty. You know, those who have lost loved ones, been bullied, degraded, and felt alone.

I adore that. You’re truly an inspiration, even to me. [laughs as Amel gives me duck lips and a peace sign] Um, let’s jump into the album. The first song is “Talkback.” It felt like a smooth transition into the album, but when I heard nonchalant singing, it took me aback—in a good way.

Right, right, “Talkback” started as a freestyle. [nods their head as they rap-sing the lyrics] “Been a long week/I had to put the ‘Gram away.” People think because I’m famous and achieved so much, that shit doesn’t hurt me. When I was younger, I always had a mindset of, “The fuck you mean money can’t buy happiness?” Now that I’ve reached a wealthy status, I understand the saying. Would I give the money and fame away and go back to the hood? No. I am more than thankful for what I have. I have access to therapy and stress-relieving, healthy techniques, but I’m not always happy. I don’t always feel like funny-ass Amel. Despite that, people use social media to create lies or assumptions about my character. Specifically, during that moment, social media was having the “Would you date Amel?” discussion.

Mmm. I remember that.

Yeah, it started off cute or whatever. Most people were saying “yeah” or “nah, but I’d let her fuck” or whatever. But then, the discussion spiraled when one person mentioned how I wasn’t dating material. They mentioned my exes, my “hoes,” and my tendency to be unfaithful in a relationship. They did a whole think piece, and the only thing they got right was my fucking name. I’ve said a million times. I never cheated on anyone in any relationship. When I’m committed, I’m committed. Right now, I’m a grown adult having fun with consenting grown adults. So, that shit just irritated me, so I got in the booth. I told myself not to let my enemies throw me off track and reminded people who I was, and they didn’t know anything about me. That’s kind of the same vibe as “Minding Mine.”

“Minding Mine” is definitely a shit-talking song to your haters, and it’s a smooth transition from “Talkback.”

Exactly, I’m minding my business, getting these checks, and not letting these folks get to me. Period. [short giggles] But yeah, I had to open the album talking my shit. Both songs are rap-singy because I wanted people to listen. Like, “Before I hit y’all with real vocals, let me remind y’all I don’t play.”

As you should! That’s actually funny because “Sneak” literally sneaks up on you. We go from nonchalant vocals to you hitting us with a jaw-dropping note in seconds.

[chuckles and nods] Yeah, that shit was definitely purposeful. I wanted to give y’all a little jumpscare.

It worked, but in a sexy way. While “Sneak” is sexy and shows how velvety and deep your vocals can go, we can’t not talk about those lyrics.

[rubs their chin, tweaks head with an innocent smile] What about them?

Now, Amel, respectfully, as a fan, I adore your sex songs, even this one. However, “Can I fuck you in the daytime/even though that pussy isn’t mine” is a bit…

[lifts their hands and chuckles] Alright, I was on my immoral shit. Sometimes, a woman can have you fiending, regardless if there’s a rock on her finger or who she’s with.

So, you’re saying you’re cool with transitioning from a “Home Maker” to a “home wrecker?”

Ahhh, I like what you did there. I need you in the studio. [releases a short laugh through their nose] Nah, but I mean, yeah. I’ve fucked wives, girlfriends, mothers, daughters, sisters, cousins, aunties…you know, it’s nothing to me. As long as they’re over 25, I’m down to slide. I need somebody mature, but not too mature. I haven’t slept with any grandmas yet, but sheesh, if somebody granny walks past me and looks like Niecy Nash, I might have to dash.

Thanks to Amel's humor, we pause for a mini-break so I can chug my SmartWater.

I cannot with you right now. [wiping tears of laughter]

I’m just saying. If somebody steps out on their relationship with me, they can step their ass right back in once we’re done fucking. There are no hard feelings on my end. If they’re willing, then I’m ready. That marriage or relationship ain’t got shit to do with me.

You seem really passionate about this. Is this song about a taken individual?

[swings their head back, cackling] Mane, you’re trying to get me in trouble.

So, it is about someone else’s partner?

[smirking] I mean, she was married, but you know, I got her out of that little situation. [shrugs and laughs cockily] She’s free now. That’s all I gotta say ‘bout that.

Well, let’s move on. “Closure” is another sensual song, but we get a special guest on this one.

Yeaaahh. I love “Closure.” “Sneak” is a sex song that you can kinda bop to, but with “Closure,” you gotta…[sensually winds hips and body rolls as she sits, then laughs]

Amel, please. [covering my giggling, hot face]

I know you feel me like you get it.

No, I get it. I just wasn’t ready for that. [fanning myself] Whew, anyways, “Closure” is a sensual song where you add airiness to your vocals. You float on the track, but during the rap part, Stunna comes out and stings like a bee.

You gotta stop hitting me with bars, shawty. But yeah, Stunna makes an appearance. Everyone loves when I rap, and I love rapping as well. It’s freeing because I don’t have to worry about what note works best sometimes. I just go in the booth and talk my shit. I might do a rap album as Stunna in the future, but we’ll see.

Trust me, the girls will be sitting. Speaking of the girls, “Drop” has to be one for the queers of the world.

You already know, I had to do something for the gays and girls! [we laugh] You can vogue, twerk, nod, or do any of the little TikTok dances to “Drop.” The song says so it’s self. I’m just trying to have fun and see some ass drop.

For the second single of the album, “Alright,” you had the same motives. It’s still number one on the charts, by the way.

It’s queer on queer violence. I just beat Lil Nas X for the record. I had to send mans a fruit basket like, “Damn, my bad.” [giggles] But for sure, “Alright” is one of my favorites. I embrace my feminine and masculine side on the track in a few of my songs. During the first verse of “Alright,” I’m in my fem Fenty bag. In the music video, I’m twerking and dancing in chaps and a thong. You know, booty everywhere, body glistening and shit. Then the verse comes through, and the video switches and I’m swagged out with my grillz, sneakers, and my cap low. At the beginning of the song, the lyrics are more fem, then at the end, they’re masc, regardless I’m talking my shit.

I love your versatility in music and your presence in general. Because “What You Wanna Try” is a straight-up stud anthem. Then, “Know Better,” which comes afterward, your voice reaches a higher pitch, in pure femininity.

Right, and I’m equally cocky in both. The songs have similar energies but differ in how they carry themselves. It represents how dynamic I am in my aura. I’m always me, but sometimes it’s in different fonts.

Finally, we have “Home Maker,” my personal favorite.

Ayeee! “Home Maker” is an honest, raw song that’s still bumps. When it starts, it’s like, “What the fuck?” Because the intro’s kinda long and doesn’t sound what you may be used to with me. You slowly walk into my home, my heart. It almost feels like a dream as I sing about being a cozy “home” for someone while also being vulnerable about self-doubt. My friends and people who grow close to me always say I have a domestic energy about me. You want to stick around and be around my energy. I love that, but at the same time, there’s pressure that comes with that. What if I’m in a shitty mood? What if I’m going through some shit and can’t be that person you’re used to? The same comfort I give to others, I need that shit back.

I 100% agree with that. Strong friends and partners need love, too. You stated that “Home Maker” was different than your typical sound, but “Princess Going Digital” is even more experimental—also my second favorite song.

At first, I didn’t want to add the song to the album because it was so different. My inflection takes on this almost baby, Playboi Carti-type voice. I fucked with it so much that I wanted to do a separate project with that cadence. But I couldn’t hold it in the vault; it was just too tough. It’s one of my favorite songs because you can’t listen to it without dancing.

Are you really looking for someone to “take you out of the streets?”

[chuckling] Mane, I’m chilling right now.

Are you, though? Because on “No Way,” you’re singing angelically about how you can’t wait to meet up with a special person.

[looks away with a smug smile] You know that’s just something sexy for the ladies. It’s not about a specific person, but it is one of my favorite sex songs. I got to pay homage to Houston with the slowed, deep-pitch effect on the chorus. It’s sexy and trill, just like me. But nah, it’s not about anyone. [laughs dismissively]

Fine, I’ll leave it there, but you have to address “synergy.” It’s such an enchanting song, and you sing so sweetly on it as if you may be falling in love.

You see, The Book of Amel doesn’t have many love songs because I'm not in love in this era of my life. However, “synergy” is an adorable love song. It isn’t technically about romantic love. I mean, it can be, and the lyrics suggest that, but for me, it also pertains to friendship. I met a very extraordinary person last year, and it was like falling in love. But not in a romantic way, you know? For example, you know when you meet someone, and y’all start hanging out? After a few outings or less, you realize how much this person relates and vibes with you. Yeah, it can move to a romantic level or sex or be a friendship. Maybe you just found someone you’re in complete harmony with. “synergy” is simply about surrendering and trusting in a connection you don’t have to worry about fading. It’s some soulmate shit.

But not romantic? [quirking eyebrow]

I mean, it can have romantic elements, but it doesn’t have to.

I feel like you’re hiding something.

Is this Iyanla: Fix My Life or an interview? [combined laughter] Next question— before I kick you out of my crib.

[giggling] Okay, let’s move to “77 Degrees.” You have such melodic songs on this album. Every song has been my favorite at least once.

Thank you. I tried to be versatile and showcase my range. “77 Degrees” is the opposite of “synergy.” Stunna comes out again because I didn’t want any features since it’s The Book of Amel. I’m singing and rapping about a toxic relationship. The one you know you’re not supposed to be fucking with. It’s that “I’m fucking mad and said we weren’t gonna fuck again, but if you pull up to my crib, I’m letting you in.” But I’m leaving that toxic shit alone.

I love healthy Amel. Your growth has shown throughout the album. The lead single, which is currently trying to take down “Alright” on the charts “ego talkin’” surprised everyone with your vulnerability.

I wanted to come out of the gate and let everyone know the level of maturity I was coming with. “ego talkin’” is my favorite song because it’s simple, but raw and honest. I’m a Taurus, so I’m stubborn. Sometimes, my ego can get in the way. Over the years, I learned to take accountability, no matter how bad I look. Being responsible for your mistakes and words is the only thing that can redeem you. It’s not always easy. I still struggle with it, but I can take a step back and correct myself nowadays. I may say something in the wrong tone or blame someone else, but then I step back and correct myself. [sings in a perfect falsetto while snapping] “That ain’t me, though, that’s just my ego talkin’/I’m still me, don’t listen to my ego talkin’.” I try to own shit before it escalates to regret.

The last unbelievable song on this phenomenal project is “Kody Blu 31.” I’m just going to let you talk.

[laughs nervously, plays with necklace’s pendant] I’m singing in this song, rapping, harmonizing. There’s a choir and background singers. My homie, Von Van Gogh, produced the beat. Everybody on this track has a traumatic story that has impacted them. That’s why you sense an overwhelming emotion one second in. I reflect on my parents, their deaths, my Unctie taking me in, my martial arts career, touch on relationships, and arrive to where I am today. It’s my journey in just a few minutes. I express the hardship that I went through and express gratitude to my angels and ancestors who protect me. It’s the perfect closing for The Book of Amel. It tells everyone no matter how hard it gets, I’m gonna keep swinging. That’s what I do; that’s what I always do. So, from the opening of my life’s story until the moment the Universe closes the book, I will continue thriving with resilience.

Join the conversation

or to participate.